I Know I Should Be Studying

But I decided to make this post instead: a list of things on my mind during this weird transition from student to unemployed fresh graduate. It has been 4 months already and whoa….a lot of things have happened (and a lot I shall keep for myself).

1. My friends are leaving one by one, walking on their own paths.

My college friends are now working for huge companies and earning huge paychecks at the early age of 22. I am proud of them and at the same time questioning: when is my turn?

a little farewell gift and card I made for Elsa

some lady like handkerchiefs and a card I made for Elsa

2. My friends are settling into serious relationships.

Americans might consider the age of 22 too early to consider serious relationships, but hey, it’s what’s happening in my circle of friends. Relationships are set to be potentially long-term. Time is precious and you don’t want to waste it on a relationship that is sure to burn in flames and a bloody heart break. Shit just got serious, Monica.

3. Swimming has never been this peaceful.

8 years ago swimming was a weekly routine and an activity to cool off from the heat of the scorching sun. But now it has transformed as an activity to think and clear my mind. There’s something so peaceful and contemplative about swimming.

A rooftop swimming pool at Park Hotel, Bandung

A rooftop swimming pool at Park Hotel, Bandung

4. Juggling graduate school application and job seeking is…

I don’t know what word can describe: tiring, nerve wracking, confusing, overwhelming, frightening, exciting at the same time.

Thank God I have family and friends cheering me on and a purpose that makes this scary path worth the effort and hopes I have invested.

5. Not understanding men is one thing.

Not understanding men plus not understanding yourself, what you want and what you don’t want, is a whole different story. Gain a holistic understanding of yourself first before even thinking of trying to reach out for that significant other.

tumblr_mum9y5oM6u1rkbqbko1_500

6. Uncertainty is a thing you must learn to embrace.

A few weeks ago I got this question in an interview: ‘How do you handle uncertainty?’ It stumped me. Thinking on my feet, I worked out a  not-so-great-but-not-so-bad (I think) answer that was acceptable by the interviewer. Uncertainty is like entering an unknown territory and well you just have to equip yourself the best way possible, continue to do your best, and just well…let go.

7. The art of moving on is a lot like engineering…

The challenge of doing it efficiently (minimum time spent) and effectively (maximum results both good in quality and long lasting). The speed of moving on is a function of time and distractions. The more distractions you have, the less time it will take for you to successfully move on. Capiche?

8. Distance does make the heart grow fonder.

Recently I stumbled a post on Tumblr that sort of sounds like this: I didn’t see you when you were around but now that you’re gone I see you everywhere. Woof. Don’t get me wrong, this does not have to be in a love context…this happens a lot (at least to me) in a friendship context. Funny how you get to know more about a person and you communicate more frequently with them with the presence of distance and time zone differences. Is it probably because we take short distance for granted and end up not making an effort to reach out to those who are close to us? I don’t know. Distance or no distance, there’s always a great feeling when you know ‘Omg, I have a new best friend!’ or ‘Wow, I have someone I can actually talk to.’

9. Giving in to Divine Intervention is key to stay sane and emotionally stable.

Taking time to pray and just talk to God as if He is my shrink (well He is in some way) is relieving.

10. It’s okay not to be okay….once in a while.

Life after graduation was not a smooth road for me (and it has only been 4 months for goodness’ sake!). There were times that I entered a dark valley of doubt and just messes that just shut down my productivity. But hey, I bounced back. I was hurt but I was not broken. Recovery probably has something to do with point 9.

11. I wish I lived closer to my gym.

I am a gym rat but it sucks when my activities leave me no time to go to the gym. The distance and time spent on the road are some variables that end up being a hinderance of me having fun and burning calories in the dance studio. I hope my future office will be close to a gym so I can stop by on my way home to do cardio or attend a Zumba class.

12. Just a thought..should I get bangs?

my current hairstyle

My current hairstyle in its natural post-shower state. No I did not go to the salon…I just washed and dried it (no blow dryer involved). I use Dove (no conditioner).

I love love love having long hair. I love how my hair touches my back when I’m wearing nothing but a towel. But I’m kind of bored of getting the same old haircut over and over again. I was thinking of getting bangs, long bangs, not short ones but my mother won’t let me. I am still on the hunt for hair thickening products..it makes me want to cry seeing my hair fall off.

13. Hold on…it’s almost December already?

Wait what? It feels like yesterday I’ve just graduated. Time surely flies.

It’s just one of those days when I am quieter than usual and I have something more important to do but I just have to let off some steam…by writing a post and finding GIFs/pictures to match my points. In terms of content, getting personal is something I brutally do on Tumblr (that’s why I keep it secret), but somehow I wanted my WordPress to contain some bits of my personal side once in a while. Whatever. Toodles.

Leave a Reply

