The Bruise

monicantik - bruise

You’re like the bruise on my thigh: I don’t know how the hell you appeared in my life and boom somehow you’re there. I notice you when I’m off guard, when I’m not busy with the mundane things in life, when I’m alone and vulnerable. I feel your existence, lingering but only temporarily.

After a while I realize I no longer feel pain anymore when I apply pressure to the part where you used to reside. You left silently and swiftly, without showing any signs. Well there were signs. You faded away. You used to be significant but slowly you blurred into your surroundings. I was either too busy or too ignorant to notice. And then before I knew it, you’re gone. I no longer feel you.  You’re no longer there.

You’re like the bruise on my thigh: you randomly enter my life and you quietly leave without me noticing you fade away on your way out.

But wait, perhaps I’m wrong.

You’re not like the bruise on my thigh. I am.

One thought on “The Bruise

Leave a Reply

